Sparky – Portland (Ricardo Villalobos Remix) (NMBRS27)

To coincide with Numbers 10 anniversary we’re re-releasing Sparky’s Portland with a 30 minute Ricardo Villalobos remix. Listen to all tracks on Soundcloud

Out now on 2×12″ vinyl and digital.

Buy at Rubadub
Buy at Boomkat
Buy at Bleep
Buy at Beatport

Sparky - Portand (Ricardo Villalobos Remix) (NMBRS27)

Portland was produced by our mate Dave Clark aka Sparky and was the first record we released in 2002, about a year before the first ever Numbers party took place.

Originally recorded live to tape using an MMT8, a Microwave II, and an ESi32 in the summer of 1998, it was released on an old label of ours named Stuffrecords and formed part of a somewhat rambling compilation called STUFF001. We hastily stuck this record out without any proper distribution, because at the time we didn’t know any better. Despite this the record did pretty well, selling 500 copies to a few select stores who had faith in what we were doing.

Fast forward a year or so to when Numbers kicked off and the track became one of the first bonafide anthems in the club. It was our tune and it would tear the roof off at any of our parties.

A couple of years later, we booked DJ Pete, aka Substance, to play. We’re talking about the record in the pub when he suddenly informs us that Ricardo Villalobos is crazy about it and even charted it. This was a deep, almost Drexciyan electro track and here was the king of crazy experimental minimal house music caning it in his DJ sets.

Not long after that night, the Numbers label was up and running and the idea to re-release Portland with a remix from Mr Villalobos was brought up almost as a kind of pipe-dream. Now in 2013, with a little help from Gerd Janson, it has finally happened. Recorded live in one take and clocking in at over 30 minutes long, it’s cited as an “experiment” by Ricardo. Designed to play at two speeds, at 33rpm its almost like an early 90s Black Dog track stretched out to infinity, whilst at 45rpm, it’s a club-ready groover with an almost Dopplereffekt rhythm to it – the sort you could imagine sneaking into a DJ Assault or Godfather Ghettotech mix. Somehow, it also manages to be classic Villalobos.

To finish off the record Dave gave us a two unheard tracks from those original Portland sessions in 1998. The malevolent electro of ‘Jigsaw’ would instantly have become another Numbers anthem if only Dave had let us hear it ten years ago, and closer track ‘Wilson St’ heads down an ambient route.

About Sparky
Dave’s a bit of a legend. In the early 90s he was a member of Glasgow Techno band State Of Flux who released on JD Twitch’s old label T&B Vinyl. Their first live show was supporting The Black Dog in 1992 at an old Glasgow venue called Industria, and they were also the support at the first ever Jeff Mills show in Glasgow. Later on Dave would release records under the name Truffle Club and regularly collaborated with JD Twitch on remixes under the Optimo (Espacio) banner. Dave and his brother Craig also released an ep under the name ‘Music At Nite’ for former Numbers label Wireblock. Most recently, he’s been working under the name LUMA for Optimo Trax.

Sparky - Portand (Ricardo Villalobos Remix) (NMBRS27)

03.12.13 — 9:30 by Numbers

FFT – Clear

Akiko Haruna – ‘Yakusoku’

FFT – Disturb Roqe

Akiko Haruna – Be Little Me


SOPHIE – BIPP (Autechre Mx)

Mosca – Bax / Done Me Wrong Repress

Akiko Haruna – Raw

Perko – The City Rings

Lanark Artefax – Corra Linn


Shapednoise – Aesthesis

Complete Walkthru – Scrolls

Perko – NV Auto

North Sea Dialect – Local Guide

Lory D – Strange Days

Introducing The Numbers Bandcamp Store

Passarani – Analog Fingerprints Vol. 1

Dukwa – Shattered In A Thousand Pieces

Peder Mannerfelt – EQUALITY NOW

Bryan Kessler – 10,000 Suns

Members of The House – Summer Nites (Kornél Kovács Remix)

Lory D – Strange Days Vol 4

Adesse Versions – That’s What Friends Are For


SOPHIE – PRODUCT Special Editions

Denis Sulta – It’s Only Real


Sparky – Signals / Tigress (NMBRS43)




New T-Shirts – Order Now

Kornél Kovács – Radio Koko (NMBRS40)

Adesse Versions – Pride (NMBRS36)

Deeon Doez Deeon! (NMBRS24)

Lory D – Strange Days Vol. 3 (NMBRS38) – Out Now

Unspecified Enemies – Everything You Did Has Already Been Done

Deejay Deer – Natur

Redinho – Debut Album out now



Sparky – Portland (Tuff City Kids Remixes) (NMBRS27TCK)

Doc Daneeka – Treptow / Paname (NMBRS39)

Darq E Freaker – Minger (NMBRS35)

Deadboy – Return (NMBRS33)

Doc Daneeka – Walk On In (NMBRS31)

Redinho – Searching



Rustie – Slasherr / Triadzz (NMBRS30)


Numbers T-Shirts

Unspecified Enemies – Multi Ordinal Tracking Unit (NMBRS22)

Lory D – Strange Days Vol 2 (NMBRS23)

Kodiak – Spreo Superbus w/ Actress & Girl Unit Remixes (Out Now)

NMBRS19x21 = Redinho x Sibian & Faun – Split Limited Vinyl, One Track Each Side

Sibian & Faun – I’m Sorry (Out Now)

Randomer – Real Talk (Out Now)

GoldFFinch – Red Mask (Out Now on Numbers)

Mosca – Done Me Wrong / Bax (Out Now)

Jamie xx – Far Nearer/Beat For

Pierre’s Pfantasy Club – Mystery Girl (Set Me Free) – Featuring Seiji’s Bassrub

Redinho – Edge Off EP (NMBRS14) Out Now

Lory D – Strange Days Vol 1 (NMBRS13)

Deadboy – HERE (NMBRS15)

Ill Blu – Meltdown EP

SLACKK – Theme from Slackk

Taz – Gold Tooth Grin (OUT NOW)

Jessie Ware & SBTRKT – Nervous (OUT NOW)

Roska & Untold – Myth

Redinho – Bare Blips EP

Mr Mageeka – Different Lekstrix EP

SRC – Gold Coinz EP

Kavsrave – Quotes EP

Deadboy – If U Want Me

Lazer Sword present LL vs LK – The Golden Handshake EP

Rustie – Bad Science EP

Offshore – Offshore EP

Ghosts on Tape – Predator Mode w/ Roska Remix

TVO – Rooks EP

Bok Bok & L-Vis 90 – Night Slugs EP

Emvee – Glitch Dub / Nocturnal

Slugabed – Superfreak

Various Artists – Wireblock 002

Neil Landstrumm – Empire On A Fiver EP

Rod Lee – Let the Horns Go EP

TVO – The Dark is Rising EP

Piddy Py – Giggle Riddim

Music at Nite – City to City

MOVES!!! – All Skate EP

Lory D – 8 Gate

Rod Lee – Let me see what u workin with

The Debonair One – Next Level Bmore Club

DJ Deeon – Like we do EP

Rustie – Zig-Zag

Dj Tameil – Get Silly EP

Lory D – Ghill / Bobby Remix

Hudson Mohawke – Ooops! EP