Redinho – Edge Off EP (NMBRS14) Out Now

Redinho - Edge Off EP (NMBRS14)

Released 30th May 2011 On 12″ & Digital

Having just smashed SXSW with his keyboards and talkbox live show alongside Deadboy and Jackmaster, now is the time to announce the release of Redinho’s new EP ‘Edge Off’.

Following on from what was essentially a beat tape demo (his first ‘Bare Blips EP’ was so raw we released it as it was) this one has been a long time in the making… in fact this was drafted before Bare Blips was released.

It’s the first of several new releases from Redinho – an English born, one time California living, multi talented badman. We hope you are as excited as we are about it.

Built of sterner stuff than you might expect, Redinho’s musical palette morphs and fractures with every new production. Born and raised on funk, Redinho is as much a product of the 80s as he is the current dance music climate. He makes music with unabashed passion, whether he’s micro organising his shuffling hi hats or zoning out on his talkbox – his preferred method of communication during his blistering live shows. In the past year he’s graced Berlin’s techno mecca Berghain, London’s renowned nightspots Plastic People and fabric, as well as Glasgow’s musical institution Sub Club – successfully taking each by the balls with his own brand of funkified live electronic mania.

Redinho – Edge Off EP (NMBRS14)

1. Edge Off
2. Slap
3. Power Look
4. Whips
5. Edge Off (Instrumental)

With a rare and present talent the EP tackles many styles, with Redinho always pressing his own unique and mesmerisingly complete fingerprint on all of them. His opener, the eponymous ‘Edge Off’, ripples with funk, eschewing some of Timbaland’s most respected productions before he flips it; singing in a typically open and honest British tone, mimicking the ascending chord pattern. Reportedly built on a riff that dates back to 2007, it’s the surrounding electronics that make it sound so incredibly current, cushioning the lyrics and propelling the simplistic boom bap drum structure.

‘Slap’ seems to be Redinho’s accomplished take on juke; it’s frenetically quick, propelled by the chopped and screwed slap bass that’s edited perfectly, furrowing down to the gut with its frequential brethren before pirouetting out through the top of your head at one of its many explosive drops. Further proving his ability to work over a dancefloor in all manner of ways, ‘Power Look’ settles on an engagingly simplistic house rhythm, but is peppered with the kind of synthesizers that gave Mr Majeeka’s ‘Different Lektrix’ the bandied legs of recognition that it’s still got now, over eight months later. Layering his synths, developing a more menacing undercurrent with his second, meaner additon, he lifts the dancefloor expectantly up into the moment when the saw wave dies and those aquatic bubble synths reappear.

What’s very telling is that you can always find something in a Redinho tune to latch onto, even in ‘Whips’ the brutally powerful bass-led, borderline alien, industrial EP closer – which basically pounds and pounds, repeatedly punching the bottom out of any speaker – there are so many significant touches. The way the snare drums ring and carry, the sheer sound of that bassline and the return of the splayed kick thump, they’re all intrinsic to what Redinho does best: consistently make fucking awesome, danceable music.

‘Edge Off’ is out now on vinyl & digital.

Redinho at Numbers x Sonar

Numbers take-over Sonar on Saturday 18th June with Deadboy, Redinho, Jessie Ware, Jackmaster, Spencer & Lory D.

Numbers At Sonar 2011

Share this release on Facebook

Listen to Redinho – Edge Off EP on Soundcloud

Design by Thomas Traum & Remote Location

Out now on Numbers:

Deadboy – HERE (NMBRS15)
Lory D – Strange Days Vol. 1 (NMBRS13)

29.05.11 — 20:54 by Goodhand

FFT – Clear

Akiko Haruna – ‘Yakusoku’

FFT – Disturb Roqe

Akiko Haruna – Be Little Me


SOPHIE – BIPP (Autechre Mx)

Mosca – Bax / Done Me Wrong Repress

Akiko Haruna – Raw

Perko – The City Rings

Lanark Artefax – Corra Linn


Shapednoise – Aesthesis

Complete Walkthru – Scrolls

Perko – NV Auto

North Sea Dialect – Local Guide

Lory D – Strange Days

Introducing The Numbers Bandcamp Store

Passarani – Analog Fingerprints Vol. 1

Dukwa – Shattered In A Thousand Pieces

Peder Mannerfelt – EQUALITY NOW

Bryan Kessler – 10,000 Suns

Members of The House – Summer Nites (Kornél Kovács Remix)

Lory D – Strange Days Vol 4

Adesse Versions – That’s What Friends Are For


SOPHIE – PRODUCT Special Editions

Denis Sulta – It’s Only Real


Sparky – Signals / Tigress (NMBRS43)




New T-Shirts – Order Now

Kornél Kovács – Radio Koko (NMBRS40)

Adesse Versions – Pride (NMBRS36)

Deeon Doez Deeon! (NMBRS24)

Lory D – Strange Days Vol. 3 (NMBRS38) – Out Now

Unspecified Enemies – Everything You Did Has Already Been Done

Deejay Deer – Natur

Redinho – Debut Album out now



Sparky – Portland (Tuff City Kids Remixes) (NMBRS27TCK)

Doc Daneeka – Treptow / Paname (NMBRS39)

Darq E Freaker – Minger (NMBRS35)

Deadboy – Return (NMBRS33)

Sparky – Portland (Ricardo Villalobos Remix) (NMBRS27)

Doc Daneeka – Walk On In (NMBRS31)

Redinho – Searching



Rustie – Slasherr / Triadzz (NMBRS30)


Numbers T-Shirts

Unspecified Enemies – Multi Ordinal Tracking Unit (NMBRS22)

Lory D – Strange Days Vol 2 (NMBRS23)

Kodiak – Spreo Superbus w/ Actress & Girl Unit Remixes (Out Now)

NMBRS19x21 = Redinho x Sibian & Faun – Split Limited Vinyl, One Track Each Side

Sibian & Faun – I’m Sorry (Out Now)

Randomer – Real Talk (Out Now)

GoldFFinch – Red Mask (Out Now on Numbers)

Mosca – Done Me Wrong / Bax (Out Now)

Jamie xx – Far Nearer/Beat For

Pierre’s Pfantasy Club – Mystery Girl (Set Me Free) – Featuring Seiji’s Bassrub

Lory D – Strange Days Vol 1 (NMBRS13)

Deadboy – HERE (NMBRS15)

Ill Blu – Meltdown EP

SLACKK – Theme from Slackk

Taz – Gold Tooth Grin (OUT NOW)

Jessie Ware & SBTRKT – Nervous (OUT NOW)

Roska & Untold – Myth

Redinho – Bare Blips EP

Mr Mageeka – Different Lekstrix EP

SRC – Gold Coinz EP

Kavsrave – Quotes EP

Deadboy – If U Want Me

Lazer Sword present LL vs LK – The Golden Handshake EP

Rustie – Bad Science EP

Offshore – Offshore EP

Ghosts on Tape – Predator Mode w/ Roska Remix

TVO – Rooks EP

Bok Bok & L-Vis 90 – Night Slugs EP

Emvee – Glitch Dub / Nocturnal

Slugabed – Superfreak

Various Artists – Wireblock 002

Neil Landstrumm – Empire On A Fiver EP

Rod Lee – Let the Horns Go EP

TVO – The Dark is Rising EP

Piddy Py – Giggle Riddim

Music at Nite – City to City

MOVES!!! – All Skate EP

Lory D – 8 Gate

Rod Lee – Let me see what u workin with

The Debonair One – Next Level Bmore Club

DJ Deeon – Like we do EP

Rustie – Zig-Zag

Dj Tameil – Get Silly EP

Lory D – Ghill / Bobby Remix

Hudson Mohawke – Ooops! EP