London staple Deadboy returns for the first time since 2011’s HERE, the new four track EP ‘BLAQUEWERK’ is out now on vinyl and digital. The release is the first of a set of many to shortly be announced, joining festival Pleasure Principle to form part of our 10th anniversary in 2013.

The record’s opener ‘On Your Mind’ sees Deadboy swapping out divas and using his own plaintive vocals for the first time, within a 7 minute late night house exploration. Perpetually building analogue snare rolls and tape fuzzed basslines marry with a tense breakdown, reminiscent of his epic ‘Wish U Were Here’ and an 80’s touch that pushes the track into the same realms occupied by Chicago’s own pioneers of dancefloor melancholia, Virgo.

‘Geek’d Up’ pushes raw and direct with a heavy kick and dramatic piano stabs showing just how killer House music can be with only a few simple tools. ‘Black Reign’, previewed on Jackmaster’s Radio 1 show, experiments with the darker side of Garage – claustrophobic and nightmarish, an antidote to the recent charting hybrids. The EP’s closer ‘Nova’ is a play on Deadboy’s formative years in South London – mournful chords, tuned 808 basslines and precision crafted breaks bring to mind the pioneering sounds of early Drum & Bass producers Foul Play, with a deeper and more feminine sound.

Deadboy - BLAQUEWERK (NMBRS25) - Photo by Liam Ricketts

BLAQUEWERK is released as a limited 12inch and digital download on 25th March 2013 via the usual outlets. Catch Deadboy on the Numbers Rinse FM show from 11pm – 1am GMT on Sunday 17th March.

Listen to EP on Soundcloud

NMBRS25 – 12″ vinyl & download
Released 25th March 2013

A1 – On Your Mind
A2 – Geek’d Up
B1 – Black Reign
B2 – Nova

Deadboy Twitter
Deadboy Facebook
Photography by Liam Ricketts
Design by Tom Daracott

01.04.13 — 5:40 by Numbers

FFT – Clear

Akiko Haruna – ‘Yakusoku’

FFT – Disturb Roqe

Akiko Haruna – Be Little Me


SOPHIE – BIPP (Autechre Mx)

Mosca – Bax / Done Me Wrong Repress

Akiko Haruna – Raw

Perko – The City Rings

Lanark Artefax – Corra Linn


Shapednoise – Aesthesis

Complete Walkthru – Scrolls

Perko – NV Auto

North Sea Dialect – Local Guide

Lory D – Strange Days

Introducing The Numbers Bandcamp Store

Passarani – Analog Fingerprints Vol. 1

Dukwa – Shattered In A Thousand Pieces

Peder Mannerfelt – EQUALITY NOW

Bryan Kessler – 10,000 Suns

Members of The House – Summer Nites (Kornél Kovács Remix)

Lory D – Strange Days Vol 4

Adesse Versions – That’s What Friends Are For


SOPHIE – PRODUCT Special Editions

Denis Sulta – It’s Only Real


Sparky – Signals / Tigress (NMBRS43)




New T-Shirts – Order Now

Kornél Kovács – Radio Koko (NMBRS40)

Adesse Versions – Pride (NMBRS36)

Deeon Doez Deeon! (NMBRS24)

Lory D – Strange Days Vol. 3 (NMBRS38) – Out Now

Unspecified Enemies – Everything You Did Has Already Been Done

Deejay Deer – Natur

Redinho – Debut Album out now



Sparky – Portland (Tuff City Kids Remixes) (NMBRS27TCK)

Doc Daneeka – Treptow / Paname (NMBRS39)

Darq E Freaker – Minger (NMBRS35)

Deadboy – Return (NMBRS33)

Sparky – Portland (Ricardo Villalobos Remix) (NMBRS27)

Doc Daneeka – Walk On In (NMBRS31)

Redinho – Searching



Rustie – Slasherr / Triadzz (NMBRS30)

Numbers T-Shirts

Unspecified Enemies – Multi Ordinal Tracking Unit (NMBRS22)

Lory D – Strange Days Vol 2 (NMBRS23)

Kodiak – Spreo Superbus w/ Actress & Girl Unit Remixes (Out Now)

NMBRS19x21 = Redinho x Sibian & Faun – Split Limited Vinyl, One Track Each Side

Sibian & Faun – I’m Sorry (Out Now)

Randomer – Real Talk (Out Now)

GoldFFinch – Red Mask (Out Now on Numbers)

Mosca – Done Me Wrong / Bax (Out Now)

Jamie xx – Far Nearer/Beat For

Pierre’s Pfantasy Club – Mystery Girl (Set Me Free) – Featuring Seiji’s Bassrub

Redinho – Edge Off EP (NMBRS14) Out Now

Lory D – Strange Days Vol 1 (NMBRS13)

Deadboy – HERE (NMBRS15)

Ill Blu – Meltdown EP

SLACKK – Theme from Slackk

Taz – Gold Tooth Grin (OUT NOW)

Jessie Ware & SBTRKT – Nervous (OUT NOW)

Roska & Untold – Myth

Redinho – Bare Blips EP

Mr Mageeka – Different Lekstrix EP

SRC – Gold Coinz EP

Kavsrave – Quotes EP

Deadboy – If U Want Me

Lazer Sword present LL vs LK – The Golden Handshake EP

Rustie – Bad Science EP

Offshore – Offshore EP

Ghosts on Tape – Predator Mode w/ Roska Remix

TVO – Rooks EP

Bok Bok & L-Vis 90 – Night Slugs EP

Emvee – Glitch Dub / Nocturnal

Slugabed – Superfreak

Various Artists – Wireblock 002

Neil Landstrumm – Empire On A Fiver EP

Rod Lee – Let the Horns Go EP

TVO – The Dark is Rising EP

Piddy Py – Giggle Riddim

Music at Nite – City to City

MOVES!!! – All Skate EP

Lory D – 8 Gate

Rod Lee – Let me see what u workin with

The Debonair One – Next Level Bmore Club

DJ Deeon – Like we do EP

Rustie – Zig-Zag

Dj Tameil – Get Silly EP

Lory D – Ghill / Bobby Remix

Hudson Mohawke – Ooops! EP